Written in honor of Dr. MLK and the upcoming inauguration.

It’s now been 2 months since the election – and I watch how people around me are coping, or not coping, with the election results. I have one friend who has started to have panic attacks – something she thought had been put to rest years ago. Many, like me, have disconnected to a degree. I watched or listened to the news daily before the election – and now I do not.

The holidays helped me to distract myself and I found I appreciated them in a way I hadn’t in the past- appreciating the moments of happiness and love and recognizing that the ‘season of joy’ is not a given.

I have been saying that I hold Trump supporters culpable for the election of Trump. At the same time I always mention that Hilary won the general election by 2.9 million votes. It comforts me to know that more of my fellow Americans voted for Clinton than for Trump. But what about those 60 million people who did vote for him – after watching his character displayed on television night after night. A man who cheats contractors and gropes women? A man who incites violence?

Today – in honor of Martin Luther King’s birthday – I ask myself what he would say about this situation. And I believe he would say we should stand up for what’s right. He would say the 60 million are misguided and need to be educated. He would say that the heart of a person’s soul is good and kind and we need to appeal to that part.

And He would tell us to tell the truth – even when those around us are lying – we need to continue to tell the truth. For the Truth – he would say – Will Prevail.

And to tell the truth we need to be willing to see the truth.

We need to see what a culture of greed doth sow.

A culture that profits from other people’s suffering.

A culture that must deny that suffering in order to justify the greed.

Perhaps right now this is our Work. To See and Speak and Shout out the Truth. This is why I am going to the demonstrations. Hope to see you there.

Sue Henkin-Haas

January 16th, 2017

Leave a Reply

