Writing prompt: What was your favorite subject in school?

I was the kind of kid who found school boring. There were very few classes where I wasn’t watching the clock but I always looked forward to P.E. It was a chance to get up and move around. And it was an easy A  – which was an added bonus. I especially liked gymnastics. I loved doing cartwheels and would spend half my day upside down.

I assumed everyone liked P.E. It wasn’t until years later that I learned that that wasn’t so. Many of the kids at the school I work at hate P.E. with a vengeance. They refuse to participate and cause a lot of problems for themselves as a result.

Although I would say P.E. was my favorite there were other subjects that I liked. Math for example – I liked solving problems and it was more ‘hands-on’ than other subjects. I also looked forward to the occasions when we had art class. I was a pretty good student but not very inspired. I’ve looked at this over the years and have concluded there were several reasons for my lack of engagement. One was the large class size. A quiet kid like me could fall through the cracks. I never caused any problems and was easy to overlook.

I spent a lot of time in my head. That’s why P.E. was so good for me – it brought me back into my body. Interesting how all these years later I teach health and exercise classes. All these years later – it seems – my favorite class is still P.E.

Leave a Reply

